2018 European year of cultural heritage Co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union

Concert programme

The Hanseatic Way: A Musical Journey Through a Shared Past


Ensembles Canto Fiorito and Musica Antiqua Salzburg
Artistic director Rodrigo Calveyra

This programme is a real musical trip, where the most famous and emblematic composers from the Hanseatic countries are put together in a geographic and chronological order, starting in England, passing through Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany, Scandinavia, Poland and finally the Baltics. The chosen period corresponds to the climax and decline of the League in the late sixteenth and early seventeenth century. The programme presents some of the pearls of renaissance polyphonic music, represented by William Byrd, Thomas Tallis, Orlando di Lasso and Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, and jewels of the seconda prattica, such as Heinrich Schütz, Bartlomiej Pękiel and Tarquinio Merula, not forgetting the Venetian poly-choral tradition in the music of Hieronymus Praetorius and Giovanni Battista Cocciola. Most of the pieces in the programme are vocal, performed by either four or five singers, who are accompanied not only by basso continuo played on organ, but also by cornettos and sackbuts – historical wind instruments that used to accompany or replace voices in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The pieces are interpreted according to the principals of the historically informed performance, treating music as the way to emphasise the meaning of the text.




Anthony Holborne. Pavana Paradizo 

William Byrd. Miserere 

Thomas Tallis. If ye love me



Orlando di Lasso. Ad te levavi oculos meos



Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck. De profundis



Hyeronimus Praetorius. Quam pulchra es 

Johann Hermann Schein. Canzon corollarium

Heinrich Schütz. Ich bin eine rufende Stimme



Andreas Düben. Miserere mei Deus



Bartlomiej Pekiel. Dulcis amor Jesu



Johann Valentin Meder. Chaconne



Giovanni Battista Cocciola. Ave Sanctissima 

Giovanni Battista Cocciola. Jubilate Deo



Tarquinio Merula. Folle è ben che si crede




Ieva Gaidamavičiūtė-Barkauskė / Lina Dambrauskaitė, soprano
Renata Dubinskaitė, mezzosoprano
Saulė Šerytė, mezzosoprano
Algirdas Bagdonavičius, tenor
Nerijus Masevičius, bass
Rodrigo Calveyra, cornetto, artistic director
Matthijs Lunenburg/ Gawain Glenton, cornetto
Dušan Kranjc / Simon Seidel, sackbut
Stefan Konzett, sackbut
Adrian France / Valerio Mazzucconi, sackbut
Davide Pozzi/ Matteo Riboldi, organ


Canto Fiorito and Musica Antiqua Salzburg
Canto Fiorito and Musica Antiqua Salzburg
Canto Fiorito
Canto Fiorito
Canto Fiorito and Musica Antiqua Salzburg
Canto Fiorito and Musica Antiqua Salzburg